Will I lose my customization if I update my theme?

No, updating the theme won’t reset your site or settings done through the Theme Options panel, products or pages. The only thing you should be concerned about is custom coding; if done by altering the original theme’s files.

Custom coding must be done in a child theme, this way you can always safely update the parent theme, while your custom coding is kept safe in the child.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles